Don’t be a Halloweenie. Get crafty.

I love Halloween because I love dressing up.  My mother does not love Halloween.  Every year I would decide what I wanted to be and she’d make my costume as simply as she could.  No frills here.  We didn’t buy costumes.  One year she shoved me out the door with my sister with a pie tin on my head and called me an astronaut.  I was like 2.  I think I’m still traumatized.

So now that I’m relatively grown, I can find much more joy in Halloween.  I love seeing the kids in the neighborhood, and especially love the home-made costumes.  I can’t picture putting down more than 10 bucks on a costume, which is why I’m making three costumes on my own this year.  Okay, I’m not completely making them.  But all the materials are either things I got at the thrift store, or stuff I already had.  And yes, I have three different places to wear it all.

Halloween is but once a year…and making your costume is half the fun.  The other half of the fun is when you settle down to watch It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

