Dawn ’til dusk

February 21, 2008

Today was just one of those days.  I was on my feet for half the day and didn’t realize how exhausted I was until it was too late.  I volunteered for three hours at a campus event and forgot how tired you can get just standing there answering questions and giving the same schpeal fifty times.  They fed us and I wolfed down a plate of deliciousness before running back out and doing five things in two buildings. And then I went to work and sat down at my desk and just wanted to close my eyes.  Forever. 

I knew I had to keep it together long enough to get through economics at 5, so I trudged down the hall and bought a soda.  And when I got into the building before class, I had an argument with an old dollar and eventually got the amazing opportunity to pay $1.25 for a bag of Reese’s Pieces.  ”Yes,” I thought, “this will get me through class.” 

And then I walked into the empty lecture hall and saw the huge note on the board: Class canceled.  Professor sick.  I wanted to run around the building and scream phrases of insane happiness, but I was too tired.  It was just one of those days.  I combined success and defeat by walking up a rather large hill on the long walk to my car. 

Spring training is in full swing and guess what: the Phillies forked over the $10 million that Ryan Howard asked for.  I agree with my father–it’s a really risky move.  He puts it this way: “If they sign him for $10 mil and he has a slow start this season, the boo-birds are going to come out.  It’s a blue-collar audience, and the boo-birds come out pretty quick.”  I don’t know what the hell a “boo-bird” is and where he came up with it, but I know what he means.  We’re a very unforgiving audience.  We’re full of undying love and loyalty*, but we get pissed off pretty quickly. 

And that’s all I have to report from a place that feels a million degrees colder than Clearwater, Florida. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

